File an File an Initial Report

Meet your business startup requirements.

Some states require newly formed businesses to file an Initial Report within the first few months of operation. An initial report contains general details about your business including information about the owners and the businesses registered agent. We make filing your initial report simple by handling the paperwork on your behalf.

$99

Why choose MyCorporation to help you file your Initial Report?

Meet your startup requirements

We ensure that your initial report is filed correctly and on time with the Secretary of State. Avoid paying unnecessary late filing fees.

We make it easy

Our filing experts will prepare your filing and submit all the paperwork directly on your behalf. We make the process of filing your initial report fast, easy and affordable

What is an initial report?

An initial report ( also known as a statement of information) is a filing that provides the state with basic information about any newly formed business. This includes the name of the new business, the names and sometimes addresses of the owners / directors, and the registered agent name and address. Lastly an initial report includes general information about what kind of business will be conducted.

What happens if I don't file my initial report?

Because an initial report is not always required, it can often be overlooked, causing compliance issues for new business owners. When your business fails to file any required document, your business can fall out of good standing with the state. The same applies when you fail to file your initial report.

This essentially eliminates the protections provided to you by incorporation. You could be required to pay unnecessary fees or face involuntary dissolution.

Therefore, it is a good idea to make sure you meet your businesses reporting requirements. If you are unsure if your business will require an initial report, you can contact us for more information.

Which states require an initial report?

Currently an initial report is not required by businesses in every state, and so it can be confusing for business owners just starting out whether they need to file. The states that currently require an initial report after you form your business are Alaska, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Louisiana, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, South Carolina, and Washington. In most cases, your report will be due within 90 days of registration.

MyCorporation can help you file an initial report for only $99

Get Started

Need additional assistance?

Contact our experts with any additional questions.


Would you rather speak to one of our representatives now?

Call us: 877.692.6772

M-F - 7:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. PT

By submitting this form, you are indicating that you would like one of our representatives to contact you about the details you provided. Your information is completely safe and will not be shared.


This form is protected by reCaptcha

Frequently asked questions

In most states, the initial report is due shortly after the corporation is formed. Failure to timely file could result in a penalty. Keep in mind that the filing deadlines and requirements are not the same for every state, and you should confirm with the state in which you are incorporated. MyCorporation will automatically check the due dates when an initial report order is placed.

Information required generally includes the following:

  • The name and address of the current agent for service of process (i.e., the "Registered Agent" or "Resident Agent")
  • The corporation's principal business address
  • The names and addresses of the officers, directors, or members
  • A description of the business activities being conducted

In addition, many states will require information on share issuance, assets, and property. Since requirements vary by jurisdiction, we'll make sure your documents are filed correctly.